Sesame Candy

Happy Makar Sankranti!

When I was growing up in northern India my mother used to make a variety of sesame candies (til ka gajak) in the winter. These candies were prepared by grinding toasted black and white sesame seeds. What readers may find interesting is that this distinct combination of black and white sesame seeds resulted in a smooth, rich texture more akin to fudge than sesame brittle. Aside from my mother’s kitchen, the only other place I’ve tasted that type of candy was sesame halwa at one of my friends from the Middle East. I thought I would recognize Makar Sankranti Day by sharing my mother’s sesame candy recipe with readers.

Coincidentally, last year’s Makar Sankranti Day is when I began this blog! I really didn’t even realize it until I looked back on the recipes I have shared on this blog. This was mostly because 2007 was a whirlwind year for me since I was busy working on details related to one of the most important milestones of my life. Now that things have settled down, I’m hoping to post more recipes in 2008. As always, feel free to comment or ask any questions in the comment section.

Sesame Candy
1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon water
1/2 cup white sesame seeds, lightly toasted
1/4 cup sesame flour (black or white sesame seeds)

1) Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and generously grease the foil with 1/2 tablespoon butter. Set aside.
2) Put the granulated sugar, honey, 1 teaspoon lemon juice and water in a small preferably heavy-bottomed saucepan.
3) Melt the sugar over medium high heat, stirring constantly with a long-wooden handle spoon. Keep stirring until sugar has completely dissolved. Reduce the heat slightly and continue to cook until the mixture turns a light caramel color. (Candy thermometer is quite handy tool to have here).
4) Add all the ingredients except butter, stirring constantly, until all the ingredients are fully incorporated. Add the remaining butter and stir to mix. Remove from the heat and mix thoroughly. At this point the mixture will be quite foamy.
5) Carefully pour the mixture onto the greased baking sheet and spread evenly as thin as possible with a heatproof rubber spatula before it hardens. Score in diamond or desired shapes while the mixture is still warm or when the candy is hard; break into pieces and transfer it to an airtight container and store at room temperature.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll, Cooking, Food

6 Comments on “Sesame Candy”


  1. […] halwa I have made over the years.  For more information please see my earlier entries posted on January 14, 2008 and January 14, 2011 on this […]


  2. […] halwa I have made over the years.  For more information please see my earlier entries posted on January 14, 2008 and January 14, 2011 on this […]


  3. Why viewers still make use of to read news
    papers when in this technological world the whole thing is existing on
    net?

  4. Cheryl Says:

    I’m extremely pleased to discover this website. I want to to thank you for your time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every bit of it and I have you saved as a favorite to see new stuff in your web site.


  5. […] our India trip of five years ago during Makar Sankranti. Please see my earlier entries posted on January 14, 2008 and January 14, 2012. I would like to welcome 2014 with the following pictures depicting my […]


Leave a Reply

