Mustard (Lai)

Welcome to spring 2013!

With the arrival of spring every year I like to take advantage of the cool weather crop like mustard that can be grown in a short growing season here in the Northeast and again in the fall before the hard frost. I’ve been growing mustard, known as lai in my nani’s kitchen, mainly for greens not only in the spring but also during the fall. Freshly harvested produce is vibrant in color and tastes so good that you don’t even have to add any spices or seasonings except some basic salt and black pepper. Below I am sharing three pictures of 2012 spring since the winter last year was quite mild in New England. Last year by this time I had beautiful mustard blooming in my garden. Please see my entry posted on March 31, 2012 on this blog.

Mustard (Lai)

Blooming Mustard

Mustard seed pods

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll, Cooking, Food

3 Comments on “Mustard (Lai)”


Leave a Reply

