Chickpea Sprouts

We are deep into the spring season and it’s a time when I like to take advantage of the fresh herbs, sprouts, and assortment of seasonal greens I was accustomed to during my childhood years in the northern hills of India. I am fond of sprouts due to their versatility and often incorporate them into my cooking during the spring and summer. Fresh sprouts such as mung, chickpeas, and adzuki (muth) are great choices to match up with various herbs such as cilantro or basil.  Readers can refer to my posts on February 2, 2012  and April 10, 2012 which provide recipes for chickpea and adzuki sprouts.  One of our family favorites is a side dish of sautéed chickpea sprouts with an assortment of side dishes present in the Indian kitchen.  I am particularly fond of dried chickpeas as they can be used in a number of ways – ground, fermented, boiled, pureed, steamed, braised, sautéed, deep-fried, baked, roasted and of course sprouted. The process of sprouting is quite simple and I thought I would share some pictures of recent chickpea sprouts.  During the spring and summer I will often incorporate them into either salads or as a sautéed dish.

Sprouts

Green Chickpea Sprouts

Before sprouting

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll, Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

