Gajar Ki Burfi

Burfi is an Indian dessert, with almost fudge like consistency, typically made with milk, nuts, flours and vegetables like carrots, edible gourd, zucchini and winter melon combined with clarified butter.

1/4 cup heavy cream
2 cups grated carrots (gajar)
1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup granulated sugar or to taste
1/4 cup unsalted butter
1/2 cup khoya or milk powder
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground cardamom
1/8 teaspoon grated nutmeg
1/4 cup unsalted cashew halves
3 drops rose essence

1) In a heavy saucepan combine heavy cream and carrots. Bring the carrot mixture to a full boil, stirring constantly, and reduce heat. Cook over medium heat stirring frequently, until all the liquid has been evaporated, approximately 35 to 55 minutes.
2) Add sugar, 1 tablespoon butter, khoya, cardamom and freshly grated nutmeg and mix well with the carrot mixture.
3) Cook, stirring constantly, 10 to 20 minutes, or until the carrot mixture is quite thick like soft cookie dough. Add more butter if desired. Remove from the heat and add the remaining ingredients. Stir to mix thoroughly.
4) Lightly grease an 8-inch round baking pan (or stainless steel thali) and pour carrot-mixture into the baking pan and spread the mixture evenly using a heatproof metal spatula. Sprinkle thinly sliced nuts of choice on top if desired. Let it cool completely before cutting. Cut into diamond shapes to serve. Refrigerate.

Servings: 12 to 16

Note: The size of grated carrots should resemble long grain rice or orzo or little larger

Explore posts in the same categories: Cooking, Food

6 Comments on “Gajar Ki Burfi”

  1. Britney Says:

    hey there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up anything new from right
    here. I did however expertise several technical points
    using this website, as I experienced to reload the web
    site many times previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that
    I am complaining, but slow loading instances times
    will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if ads
    and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content.
    Make sure you update this again very soon.

  2. Christy Says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was good. I do not know who you are

    but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!


  3. I think this is one of the most important info
    for me. And i’m glad

    reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is

    ideal, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  4. Kassandra Says:

    Hey there I am so

    delighted I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Google for something

    else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot
    for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked
    it and also

    added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read much

    more, Please do keep up the superb job.


  5. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found
    this board and I to find It

    truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to give something again and aid others such as you aided me.


Leave a comment